Exhibition Archive

Information on previous exhibitions held at ggg, ddd and CCGA can be easily accessed using a comprehensive search function or by clicking on the target exhibition poster.


 /   -





Exhibition information

The 203rd Exhibition Tokyo Type Directors Club Exhibition 2015

June 08, 2015 - July 31, 2015

Design: Nejc Prah (Ansambel)
Design: Nejc Prah (Ansambel)
  • facebook
  • tweet
  • url_copy

The annual Tokyo TDC Exhibition at kyoto ddd gallery will be held again.
The "Tokyo TDC Exhibition 2015" presents the results of the "Tokyo TDC Annual Awards 2015," the annual international design competition organized by the Tokyo Type Directors Club.
A total of 3,004 entries (2,002 from Japan and 1,002 from overseas) were submitted to the "Tokyo TDC Annual Awards 2015."
Winners were selected through a strict judging process, and the following prizes were awarded: 1 Grand Prix, 1 Type Design Prize, 1 RGB Prize, 1 Book Design Prize, 1 Special Prize, and 5 TDC Prizes. This year is notable for the positive evaluations given to highly experimental works, including the Grand Prix for 2 series of posters by a Yale University graduate student, and a TDC Prize for a film by a German university student. Also among the winners are three type design entries, including two works of typeface for newspapers requiring delicate and sophisticated skills. Thus, the line-up is even more diverse than in previous years.
In addition to the 10 prizewinning creations, the exhibition presents nominated works and other outstanding entries, for a total of over 150 typographic works. This impressive array may change your ideas and perspectives on typography.

Prize Winning Works of Tokyo TDC Annual Awards 2015

【Grand Prix】
Nejc Prah(Slovenia)
「The Avocado ‒ Pecha Kucha poster / Super ‒ Sonic Hardware Warehouse」
Category : Poster B


【Type Design Prize】
Henrik Kubel, Scott Williams(UK)
「The Independent Newspaper」
Category : Type Design


【Book Design Prize】
Koichi Hara (Japan)
「Shinken Shirahadori」
Category : Editorial/Book Design

【RGB Prize】
Seiko Ito, Gabin Ito, Taeko Isu, ucnv, BCCKS (Japan)
Category : RGB

【Special Prize】
Kaoru Kasai (Japan)
「Hokusai Manga Inspired Exhibition」
Category : Poster B

【TDC Prizes】
David Cameron Morton(Australia)
Category : Experimental Work


【TDC Prizes】
Kris Sowersby(New Zealand)
「Financier Typeface Family」
Category : Type Design

【TDC Prizes】
Chikao Ito (Japan)
「In Ei Ming-cho-tai」
Category : Type Design


【TDC Prizes】
Jonas Zieher(Germany)
Coon Song
Category : RGB


【TDC Prizes】
Kanako Hatakeda (Japan)
「body and breath」
Category : Experimental Work