Exhibition Archive


 /   -





Exhibition information

The 48th Brilliant Rivalry: Works by Outstanding Designers in the DNP Archives of Graphic Design

June 13, 2009 - September 13, 2009

  • facebook
  • tweet
  • url_copy

In postwar Japan, graphic design has marked dramatic development in tandem with the nationfs economic, social and cultural growth. In a quest to bequeath this treasured legacy to future generations, many works from this period are preserved in the DNP Graphic Design Archives. This exhibition introduced 123 posters in the Archives collection by 69 designers representative of each phase within the half-century from the 1960s to the present. In displaying the selected works, in addition to a chronological layout giving an overview of the progression in artistic expression from one generation to the next, within each generation works were exhibited in pairs, their juxtaposition enabling the traits of each artist to came to the fore.
The exhibition was identical in content to the show of the same name initially held at ginza graphic gallery in January 2009.

Featured artists

Katsunori Aoki, Masuteru Aoba, Kan Akita, Shigeru Akizuki, Gugi Akiyama, Katsumi Asaba, Sonoko Arai, Kiyoshi Awazu, Mizumaru Anzai, Takenobu Igarashi, Tsuguya Inoue, Akira Uno, Tatsuo Ebina, Tetsuya Ota, Takuya Onuki, Tadashi Ohashi, Kaoru Kasai, Mitsuo Katsui, Takahisa Kamijo, Yusaku Kamekura, Yoichiro Kawaguchi, Toshifumi Kawahara, Issay Kitagawa, Katsu Kimura, Tsunehisa Kimura, K2 (Seitaro Kuroda and Keisuke Nagatomo), Ryohei Kojima, Makoto Saito, Kashiwa Sato, Koichi Sato, Taku Satoh, U.G. Sato, Kenjiro Sano, Yasuhiro Sawada, Katsuhiko Shibuya, Norito Shinmura, Hachiro Suzuki, Takayuki Soeda, Tycoon Graphics, Ikko Tanaka, Seiju Toda, Kazufumi Nagai, Kazumasa Nagai, Hideki Nakajima, Masayoshi Nakajo, Makoto Nakamura, Tadahito Nadamoto, Minoru Niijima, Kazunari Hattori, Yoshio Hayakawa, Kenya Hara, Keiko Hirano, Koga Hirano, Osamu Fukushima, Shigeo Fukuda, Gan Hosoya, Kei Matsushita, Shin Matsunaga, Ken Miki, Satoru Miyata, Kijuro Yahagi, Nobuhiko Yabuki, Toshio Yamagata, Ryuichi Yamashiro, Yoko Yamamoto, Tadanori Yokoo, Katsu Yoshida, Shin-ichiro Wakao, Makoto Wada